Every Friday I suggest a wine that is rated 90 points or higher and costs less than $20.

This week’s wine is an old favorite of mine.  I usually prefer Cabs, but this Merlot is wonderful.  In fact, this was one of the wines served at our wedding.  I found it yesterday at BevMo for $9.99 (Club Bev Price) and the sign said it was 91 points (though I have not been able to confirm that online).*

sterling vintners

At a winery once, I learned about the tannins in red wine, which are created by the skins of the grapes.  If I remember correctly, Cabernets in particular have a lot of tannins.  What is the taste of tannins? Well, I know it when I taste it, and apparently I am not the only one who finds it difficult to describe the taste of tannin.  Let’s just put it this way, tannins are what make a wine interesting. This wine has lots of tannins and it is everything a red wine should be.  This wine would be great with anything.  Try it with chocolate!

*One reader asked how the point system works. I will need to do a whole post on this one day when I have more time to research. In short, points are out of 100. As I understand it there are several different rating sources. I assume, like anything else, that the ratings are not always reliable. (In fact, I tried a red earlier this week that I decided not to recommend.) For now, I think the ratings are just a good way for those of us who are relatively new to the wine world to pick out a nice wine.

